Erasmus Enterprise Kicks Off Entrepreneurial Year 2023 with Grand Awards Ceremony and Impactful Roundtables

Erasmus Enterprise, a dynamic hub for innovation and entrepreneurship, celebrated the official opening of the Entrepreneurial Year 2023 with a spectacular awards ceremony and impactful roundtables. The event was an exceptional gathering of visionaries, leaders, and change-makers in the entrepreneurial landscape hosted by Ernst Hoestra.

The highlight of the evening was the recognition of outstanding entrepreneurs who have made remarkable contributions to their respective fields. Three prestigious awards were presented, showcasing the extraordinary talent within the Erasmus Enterprise community:

Erasmus Enterprise Community Award


Ease2Pay, led by Gijs van Lookeren Campagne and Jan Borghuis, was honored with the Erasmus Enterprise Community Award. The award signifies the deep sense of belonging and collaboration that Ease2Pay experienced within the Erasmus Enterprise community in the past year. Gijs van Lookeren Campagne and Jan Borghuis expressed their gratitude, stating:

"We have never felt as at home as in the past year being part of Erasmus Enterprise."
Jan Borghuis
Co-founder Ease2Pay

Startup Award


Thijs Nederlof and Rik Roosenstein were recognized for successfully launching their startup, Teachbuddy, and were presented with the Startup Award.

Next Frontier Award


The Next Frontier Award, presented by Jan Peter Balkenende (Former Prime Minister of The Netherlands), was bestowed upon IMCOMET. This award recognizes IMCOMET’s pioneering efforts and potential to lead the way in uncharted entrepreneurial territories.

The awards ceremony was followed by three engaging roundtable discussions moderated by Sheila Struyck, featuring influential voices in the fields of sustainability, smart cities, digital society, urban challenges, and the entrepreneurial generation. Distinguished participants included Caroline Nagtegaal (European Parliament), Inge Merkelbach (BIG’R), Ilja Linnemeijer (Business Unit Leader Zuid-Holland PwC), Sabine Biesheuvel (BlueCity), Martijn Hamann (Endeit Capital), Liduina Hammer (InnovationQuater), Adriana Hoppenbrouwer (The Fabricant), Jasper van Ouwerkerk (McKinsey & Company), Laura Rosendahl Huber (RSM), Michael Dooijes (ScaleNL), Ras Lalmy (YES!Delft), Julie Knoeff (Graduate Entrepreneur), and Karen Maas (Impact Centre Erasmus).

The official opening of the Entrepreneurial Year concluded with an exhilarating countdown, moderated by Allard Castelein, and was followed by a sustainable-driven networking session. Attendees enjoyed refreshments from Vet&Lazy and sustainable bites served by chef Tessa van der Geer, fostering meaningful connections among like-minded entrepreneurs.

Erasmus Enterprise is excited to embark on a new entrepreneurial journey in 2023, fostering innovation, collaboration, and societal impact.

Discover Exciting Upcoming Events

Stay informed and be part of the entrepreneurial community at Erasmus University Rotterdam!